Weather forces revisions to winter sports schedule

Posted on Wednesday, February 5, 2014 at 10:34 am

Snow, snow, snow: the delight of small children who want to be out of class.
But this year, it’s been the bane of coaches and players who just want to get in their games.
As snowfall over the last two weeks continued to cancel school-and, therefore, high school basketball games and wrestling matches-the Northern Neck District’s athletic directors met late last week to hammer out a new schedule for the final two weeks of district play.
For the Northumberland Indians winter sports teams, this is how it looks: On Tuesday, Feb. 4, in their matchups against Lancaster, the Northumberland boys basketball teams play at home while the girls basketball teams will travel to Lancaster High School.  Games start at 6 p.m.
On Wednesday, Feb. 5, the boys will travel to Caroline while the Indians wrestling team will compete at Washington and Lee High School. Both events start at 5:30 p.m.
Against Colonial Beach, the girls will travel to Colonial Beach High School on Thursday, Feb. 6, while the boys will play at home on Friday, Feb. 7. Games start at 6 p.m.
On Saturday, Feb. 8, the Conference 43 wrestling tournament at Rappahannock County High School. That same day, the girls basketball team will play at Rappahannock at 5 p.m. and the boys will play at Essex at 6 p.m.
For the final week in the regular season, the boys host Essex on Monday, Feb. 10; the boys will travel to Lancaster while the girls host the Lady Red Devils and the indoor track team heads to Hampton meet on Tuesday, Feb. 11; the boys host Rappahannock on Wednesday, Feb. 12; the girls host Washington and Lee Thursday, Feb. 13; and the boys travel to Washington and Lee High School on Friday, Feb. 14.

Headlines of the Day