Northumberland Echo

Follow Us On:

Devils, Indians earn region honors

Posted on Wednesday, February 27, 2013 at 1:15 pm

            Share on Tumblr

Northumberland’s Wesley Jackson and Lancaster’s Sharda Beane were named this year’s Region A Division 2 Tournament MVPS. This announcement came before announcing the members of the All Region A Teams.

On Feb. 15, Northumberland’s senior Nia Jones as the region girls’ player of the year, and Middlesex senior Rhyeem Lockley the region boys’ co-players of the year award. Along with the two, Appomattox Regional Governor’s School girls’ coach Eric Brower and West Point boys’ coach Geoff McCulloch were named coaches of the year.

Jones joins Appomattox junior Ja’Kiara White, Lancaster senior Shamerah Taylor, Northampton senior Kesi Harmaon and West Point freshman Brooke South on the region’s first team. Appomattox senior Paris Brower, of Appomattox, Sussex junior LaCoura Ellis, Colonial Beach senior Karley Inscoe, Northampton junior Whitney Metz and Mathews seniors MacKenzie Moughan and Shelby Ware are members of the region second team.As for the boys, Lockley joins Sussex senior Charles Bryant, Colonial Beach junior Montie Gould, Northampton senior Jab Onley and Charles City junior Antonio Harris on the region’s first team. Surry junior Donnue Lyttle, Lancaster senior Tyler Colding, Mathews junior Deondra Foster, King William senior Freeman McPherson and West Point junior L.A. Allen are members of the region second team.