Northumberland Echo

Follow Us On:

NAPS launches flotilla for water cleanup

Posted on Wednesday, October 16, 2019 at 1:14 pm

With a warm wind and cloudy skies, 62 student and adult volunteers participated in the annual Creek Cleanup organized by the Northumberland Association for Progressive Stewardship (NAPS) on Sunday, October 6.

After a lunch for all participants at the Mallard Bay Community Clubhouse near Heathsville, seven skiff captains shoved off with cleanup teams to remove boatloads of trash and recyclables from the shorelines of the upper Great Wicomico River and adjacent creeks, reported NAPS president Mike Ahart. A small group of kayakers tackled the headwater creeks of Bush Mill Stream and Crabbe Mill Stream.

The teams covered over 30 miles of shoreline, bringing the “catch” back to the Mallard Bay piers to be unloaded and sorted. Bottles, cans, plastic, fishing gear and dock debris were removed from the water and shore, plus lawn furniture, a sunken sailboat, old crab baskets and oyster floats, scrap metal, tires and various other trash.

Prizes were awarded to the students on the teams with the largest total haul, largest single item, and most unusual item. In addition, each registered participant was awarded a NAPS-designed T-shirt with a trash crab logo and the message: “don’t trash my Bay!”

As in past NAPS creek cleanups, a volunteer crew from Smith Point Sea Rescue – Captains Pete Ratiz, Buddy Sylvia, and Bill Turbille – stood watch aboard the Rescue I as a safety precaution.

The volunteer trash crew consisted of members of the school Beta Club and Community Problem Solvers groups, members of the Northumberland County Sheriff’s Office Explorers, and other students and adults from the community: Althea Akgun, Atilla Akgun, Gus Akgun, Heather Akgun, Nate Akgun, Caroline Andrews, Becca Baker, James Baker, Keith Ball, Talen Ballast, Jay Bea, Bernadette Blackwell, Ian Brownlee, Emily Burgess, Tashil Chavda, Ann Demuth, Lane Eubank, Amanda Faulkner, Isaak Faulkner, Geoffrey Frank, Holly Hartung, Anna Jett, Jessica Lee, Kelsey Moss, Brady Mullins, Teagan Mullins, Bradi O’Bier, Brooks Parker, Sam Parker, Marin Pinon, Channing Reynolds, Camdin Sisk, Alice Sisson, Caleb Smith, and McKensey Smithart.

For the full article, pick up the latest Northumberland Echo 10/16/19

The “most unusual item” prize was awarded for an antenna-like object mounted to a 30-foot-long pole, shown here carried by crew members Teagan Mullins and Lane Eubank. The team was captained by Chris Parker of TowBoatUS with other crew members Talen Ballast, Jay Bea, Amanda Faulkner, Isaak Faulkner, Brooks Parker, and Sam Parker.