Northumberland Echo

Follow Us On:

November 5 elections in Northumberland

Posted on Wednesday, October 30, 2019 at 1:39 pm

Voters throughout the Commonwealth will go to the polls on Tuesday, November 5 to vote in both statewide and local elections. All seats in the Virginia General Assembly are up for re-election. In the 4th District in the Senate incumbent Ryan McDougle is being challenged by democratic opponent R. Stanton “Stan” Scott.  In the 99th District in the House of Delegates incumbent Margaret Bevans Ransone is being challenged diligently by democratic candidate Francis Edwards. Northumberland voters will also have local candidates on the ballot with some constitutional officers being unopposed. Northumberland County Commissioner of Revenue Todd E. Thomas, Treasurer Ellen Booker Kirby, and Commonwealth’s Attorney Jane Blackwell Wrightson are unopposed. Dana Deihl O’Bier is the unopposed member of the school board seeking re-election in District 1. Board of Supervisor representation A. Joseph Self Sr. is being challenged by James W. Brann in District 1.  District 4 incumbent on the Northumberland County Board of Supervisors Thomas H. “Tommy” Tomlin is being challenged by republican backed candidate Alfred C. “Junior” Fisher.  District 5 board of supervisor member Ronnie L. Jett is unopposed on the ballot. JoAnn Blackwell is reportedly a write in candidate seeking the office of board of supervisor in District 5. There are two candidates on the ballots in Northumberland County to serve as members on Northern Neck Soil and Water Conservation Board, namely Robert G. Vanlandingham and Robert E. Pickett. Johnny A. Beauchamp and Peyton W. Waller Sr. are seeking the office of Sheriff. Northumberland County District 1 polling precincts are as follows: District 1: Callao Volunteer Fire Department 314 Northumberland Highway Callao: District 2: St. Stephens Episcopal Church 6853 Northumberland Highway in Heathsville.  Northumberland County District 3 voters will now report to Fairfields United Methodist located at 14741 Northumberland Highway in Burgess. District 4 voters are to report to Wicomico Methodist Church 5060 Jesse Dupont Memorial Highway in Wicomico Church. District 5 voters are to report to the Fairfields Volunteer Fire Department located at 114 main Street in Reedville. Polls open at 6 a.m. and close at 7 p.m. Make preparation now to have some type of photo identification handy and confirm which polling precinct you are to report to before next Tuesday.